The Know
The Kelliher Samets Volk Intern Blog

Tales from Interns Past: Grace Boyle

The summer of my senior year at Champlain College I was lucky enough to land an internship at KelliherSametsVolk, with their savvy, Public Relations team.

My degree was in Public Relations and I was able to learn practical knowledge that has since, related to real-world experience. The close-knit PR team made sure to include me on meetings, ask for ideas and encourage our internship team with projects. I felt involved and knew that KSV cared about their interns. It was the only company (out of my five internships in college!) that had an internship coordinator. I loved the upbeat, creative and progressive atmosphere at KSV which is why I’m so excited to be back here at the vibrant community internship blog at KSV – three years later. 

Where Am I Today? 

After I graduated from Champlain College, Summa Cum Laude with my B.S. in Public Relations I decided I wanted something new and different. So I packed up my bags (job-less and house-less) to head to Boulder, Colorado. Boulder is filled with entrepreneurs, a raving online tech startup scene, one of the happiest and healthiest cities, beautiful mountains and 300+ days of sunshine a year. 

I landed at Lijit – yes, MC Hammer probably comes to mind. 

I am the Publisher Services Manager at Lijit, a tech-startup that provides a free custom search, stats and online, premium advertising to blogs and websites. As a Publisher Services Manager I am an account manager and recruit and acquire strategic bloggers to our growing network and publisher base of over 12,000 blogs and websites. I also use my Public Relations skills in helping organize, run and attend industry events, manage our company blog and Twitter profile and also help evangelize the brand. 

I wear a lot of hats and I love the fast paced nature of a growing startup! 

I have my own blog: http://smallhandsbigideas.com/ which even helped me land the job at Lijit and introduce me to many prolific and influential professional and personal contacts. I also volunteer with Girls In Tech, Ladies Who Launch and The Wellness Initiative. Finally, I make sure to hike, snowboard and enjoy Boulder’s happy hour scene in my spare time. 

Words of Advice: 

As an Alum of Champlain College and KSV, I am often contacted by to-be graduates of Champlain College for job-searching and relocating advice through our career services office and also hear of many friends who soon came to be at KSV after I left. 

So to the KSV interns: You’re in the right spot. The people at KSV are brilliant. Don’t be afraid to invite them to coffee and ask them questions, use them as a reference (bridges should never be burned – I still am in touch with Alex!), come in early, work hard, find opportunity, do more than you’re told, collaborate and listen. 

I’m a proponent of internships and write about it often so congratulations to you and if there’s any way I can be a resource, from one post-KSV alum to another, feel free to e-mail me directly (gracekboyle at gmail dot com) or connect with me on Twitter: @gracekboyle.

3 Responses to “Tales from Interns Past: Grace Boyle”

  1. Hey Grace! Thanks for dropping in on the blog and sharing your story. We’re so happy to hear that you are doing well & so involved with your CO networks. Our PR team still remembers the great presentation you put together on social media 🙂 Everyone reading should definitely check out Grace’s blog for inspiration and ideas!

  2. @Alexandra Thank you for having me. I think it’s a great idea for current interns at KSV and should be a fun medium to share stories.

    Thanks for all your support 🙂

  3. […] to contribute to their internship blog to tell them (as an alum) where I am now. Check it out, Tales Of Interns Past. var a2a_config = a2a_config || {}; a2a_config.linkname="Friday Linky Love"; […]


Leave a Reply

